cuba, country, travel

Daily Book Challenge: Day 27

Monkey Hunting

by Cristina Garcia


Back in the swing of things with Monkey Hunting! I’ve read Cristina Garcia before with Dreaming in Cuban, and I loved Monkey Hunting just as much.

She explores the history of a family dynasty beginning with a Chinese immigrant to Cuba, who escapes life as a sugar plantation slave and builds a business and a family.

cuba, landscape, travel

Beyond all the research that went into this work, I’m also impressed that she wrote so convincingly from mostly male points-of-view. Though I write frequently, I’ve never written in the voice of a gender other than my own, and I imagine it would be difficult!

Leave a Reply

