forest, florida, trail, hiking

Daily Book Challenge: Day 20

American Forests: A History of Resiliency and Recovery

by Douglas W. MacCleery


During my first year of graduate school, I picked up American Forests from a “for free” bin in a building lobby. It’s a slim book, published by the Forest History Society in 1992. It seemed like a great overview for an ecologist-in-training like me, but I never read one word.

tree, nature, florida, forest

Through two moves it has stayed with me, and Day 20 was a great excuse to give it a go. The pages are filled with graphs and photos, and I finished the whole thing in less than an hour.

The biggest takeaway? Though development and over-development is still a problem,  in the United States we still have as much forest land as we did in the 1920’s! With all the bad environmental news I read on a daily basis, it’s nice that there are some positive signs of environmental recovery.

Leave a Reply

