Daily Book Challenge: Day 19

Cry, the Beloved Country

by Alon Paton


Now that the Memorial Day weekend crowds have thinned, it was time for me to head to the beach. I realized with shame that I hadn’t been swimming in the Gulf for months and months, yet I live mere miles from the shore!

nature, coast, beach, hike, walking, exercise, health, fitness

My husband is often too restless to relax on the beach, but my cousin loves to read as much as I do. We set up our beach chairs a few yards from the water, and I cracked open my used copy of Cry, the Beloved Country. For two hours my feet may have been in the sand of Florida, but my mind was in South Africa.

After the beach I read at home, and my heart nearly broke for the main characters as they struggled to come to the terms with the legacies of their sons. Though it was published decades ago, I could still feel their pain.

Leave a Reply

