reading, library, books

Daily Book Challenge: Day 18

Demian

by Hermann Hesse


Another Nobel Laureate with Hermann Hesse! His work was fascinating, if confusing. His best known for Siddhartha, but published Demian a few years earlier. Delving deeply into dualism and the importance of psychoanalysis, Hesse used much symbolism with which I was unfamiliar.

reading, literature, book

He made me think, and in fact it’s been a few days and I’m still turning over the story in my mind. Isn’t that the point of literature?

My cousin has come to live with my husband and I during the summer as she pursues an internship in the neighboring county. We carpool, but she is often not finished with her work until hours after I’ve called it a day. The good news? Plenty of time to read!

Leave a Reply

