reading, book, literature

Daily Book Challenge: Day 15

Behind again. I might have picked up a few titles at the library, but I barely flipped through the first few pages of Thomas Mann’s Death in Venice. Oh well, at least with this challenge it’s possible to catch up if I miss a day.

reading, nature, literature, book

One of my favorite quotes about reading comes from Vera Nazarian, an author:

Whenever you read a good book, somewhere in the world a door opens to allow in more light.

That’s definitely how I feel about this challenge. I’ve bounced from Russia, to Maine, to France, to the Pacific Northwest, to the deep South, and more, learning as I traveled. It’s a feeling I can get from movies, but not from television. TV may entertain me, may teach me, but it doesn’t immerse me like reading does. It’s good to remind myself of that.

Leave a Reply

