spanish moss, mississippi, nature

Daily Book Challenge: Day 13

 The Last Days

by Charles Marsh


Day 13 I had completely off, which was wonderful. I decided to go for a longer book, tackling The Last Days.

Marsh recollects his childhood in Laurel, Mississippi during the Civil Rights movement, as well as the intersection between the movement and local religious groups (his dad was a pastor). Since I have already read a book about Selma as part of this challenge, it was a great tie-in (I got both books from the same shelf in the library).

civil war, human rights, history

I have recently moved to the south, so I’m glad I have immersed myself in its history. Between the civil rights movement works and the book I chose on Jones County during the Civil War, I have garnered a deeper understanding of the region, for better or for worse.

 

Leave a Reply

