reading, literature, art

Daily Book Challenge: Day 11

I Heard the Owl Call My Name

by Margaret Craven


This book has been staring at me for months. A thin novel I purchased from a used book store, it remained unread while I cycled through other books. The challenge felt like the perfect excuse to go for it!

owl, nature, wildlife

I’m glad I did. The novel was a haunting portrayal of unraveling Native American life in the Pacific Northwest, as the outside world encroached upon their youth and their traditions. Though it was published in the 1960’s, I think its themes are as relevant today as they were then.

As an extra plus, I can finally put the book back on the shelf and stop feeling bad for leaving it unread!

Leave a Reply

