book, nature, maine, reading

Daily Book Challenge: Day 4

Bird Ambulance

by Arline Thomas


My last book of the travel day – which I’ve now extended into the first four days of my challenge – was a memoir of sorts from a woman who rescued and rehabilitated wild animals, including squirrels, bats, and birds. By the end of the book, I wondered just how many of them ran around her kitchen at one time!

camping, reading, nature, literature

In my life, I had now successfully made it not only to Maine, but to the Maine North Woods, where I’d be camping, hiking, fishing, and birding for a few days. Since I was surrounded by Maine, why not choose a book about Maine?

On the drive up to our campsite I picked up a copy of Time and Tide in Acadia, a 100+ page description of the coastal area in Mount Desert Island. In Maine and reading about Maine – perfect!

Leave a Reply

