nature, duke, landscape, fitness, health

Daily 5 Mile Challenge: Day 16

Well, it was bound to happen. After being so good for so long, I faltered.

On the morning of Day 16 I drove the rest of the way to Duke in North Carolina for an awesome reunion with my graduate school girlfriends. There were hugs, smiles, and all around good feelings for everyone. Though nearly a year had passed since I saw most of them, little had changed.

nature, duke, landscape, fitness, health

At first I thought I would definitely get all my steps. I walked around a pond near my old apartment, we strolled through Duke Gardens, and then around downtown Durham. However, when we returned to our friend’s apartment – where I was crashing on the couch – I still had a mile to go.  A bottle of wine later, and I knew I wouldn’t be getting my last 2000 steps.

Hey, I’m human, and we all have to give ourselves a break sometimes. As for me, I’ve decided that for every day I miss my 10000 step goal, I’ll add a day at the end of my original 30 day challenge!

Leave a comment