fishing, nature, sunset, pier, florida

Daily 5 Mile Challenge: Day 11

The sun had just set when I arrived at the fishing pier along the beach in my hometown. It stretches nearly a quarter mile into the Gulf of Mexico, and is a great place not only for anglers, but also people (like me) who love to see dolphins and sea turtles.

fishing, nature, sunset, pier, florida

One trip down and one trip back was about .5 miles, and so while my husband fished I went up and back and up and back and up and back. As the light gave out he joined me on my rambles, and on our very last lap we heard the tell-tale zing of line zipping through a reel as we passed a group of fishermen – the sign of a big fish on.

fishing, nature, sunset, pier, florida

It turns out, they had caught a giant bull shark. It had to be at least 8 ft long, with an enormous head and sleek body; seven men worked together to haul it up. After gazing at it for a few moments, they released it once more. While it was amazing to see such an impressive creature up close, I knew that such an ordeal had to be harmful to the shark, and I crossed my fingers that it would survive. I’ll admit, I felt sad.

One thought on “Daily 5 Mile Challenge: Day 11

Leave a Reply

