Daily 5 Miles Challenge: Introduction

Starting tomorrow, I’m going to walk 5 miles every day.

The most obvious question has already popped into your mind: “Uh, why?”

Why indeed. I’m not a hunter gatherer, or a member of a nomadic people. I’m not training for anything. I have a car, and a bicycle (and roller-blades; coincidentally, does anyone use roller-blades anymore?), so why the need to walk so far?

First of all, I want to see if I can do it. Too often when I get home from a long day at the office my first instinct is to plop on the couch, stuff my face with dinner, and relax till bedtime. Though I do walk a few times a week, I can’t seem to make it a regular part of my routine.

Come on now, I know I can do it if I sent my mind to it, so I’ve decided to just make it official in an effort to keep myself accountable. Sure, I could stand to lose a few pounds too, which would frankly be a much welcomed bonus.

Walking in general is good for you. Duh, right? It helps maintain a healthy weight, improves mood, and increases stress coping abilities. If the walk is through a natural area, you can add positive neurological changes to that list. Other than time and tendency to succumb to laziness, there’s no downside.

So for the next month, the next 150 miles, I’m going to put one foot in front of the other about 1,500,000 times.

If I’ve caught your interest, follow me here on the blog or on my Instagram account: @explore30days. Inspired? Join me!

Leave a Reply

